Optimists Cricket Club News story

News from the Optimists AGM - New chairman ... new captains ... new committee

22 Nov 2019

Thanks to all those members who atttended the Optimists AGM last night, and in particular to those who volunteered to take a role in the management of the club.

We are very happy to announce that Joost Mees will take over as Optimists Chairman with Richard Neale as his deputy. Mohit Dixit will lead as Club Captain, with Vikram Vijh skippering the 1st XI in our Belgian League campaign. Thanks for their service are given to William Heath, the departing Chairman and Tony Whiteman who hands over the reins of the 1st XI captaincy.

The full elected committee comprises:

  • Joost Mees - Chairman
  • Richard Neale - Vice-chairman
  • Mohit Dixit - Club Captain
  • Tim Andrews
  • Wayne Codd
  • Graham Cope
  • Reinhardt Heyns
  • Girish Venkateswaran
  • Tony Whiteman

Individual responsibilities will be designated at the Committee's first meeting. The club is also grateful to those other members who have volunteered to take on specific tasks and who will work closely with the committee.

The AGM also appointed a selection panel, which will be made up of Mohit Dixit, Vikram Vijh, Girish Venkateswaran and Graham Cope.

Today is a big day in the progress towards improved ground facilities as the pavilion sub-committee (Tony Whiteman, William Heath and Robert Deed) will meet the Walferdange commune's coll├Ęge ├ęchevinal. We await their news!

We'll be in touch soon to set a date for the club meet-up at the Christmas market and for the awards dinner in the new year. No visiting guest speaker this time, but plenty of anecdotes to tell from last season and plans to make for 2020.


Kind regards,

The Optimists Committee