Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI v PCCB on Sun 05 Jun 2011 at 13:30
Optimists Cricket Club Won by 7 wickets

Match report On a very hot and slightly humid Sunday, the Optimists started their BCF 45 over league campaign. Following a very successful T20 run, the Optimists were brimming with confidence and in search of promotion from Division 1 to the Premier division.

As the opposition, PCCB, were late, rules meant that the Optimists won the toss by default and skipper Joost Mees decided to have a bowl first.

Keeping to similar tactics adopted in the T20 league format the opening bowlers were Suresh Kalagara and Iqbal Murad. Kalagara bowled well whilst Iqbal was having a slightly torrid time as the PCCB openers decided to target him and really go after him. After the first 10 ten overs PCCB were 70 without loss and looking as though they could go on to make a large total.
Optimists number one strike bowler for many a year was then introduced into the attack and Nishith Gandhi immediately slowed the run rate and with Taral Desai bowling well at the other end wickets soon started tumbling. Desai dismissed one of the openers and that was quickly followed by a good catch from Deman Smit off the bowling to Gandhi to remove the other opener. Gandhi produced a brilliant yorker to dismiss the next batsman and finished his 9 overs with 2-36. The spin attack of Deepak Gianchandani and re-introduction of Iqbal put the visitors in further difficulties as Deepak bowled a steady line and length and went on to get 2-9 off 3 overs. Iqbal was amongst the wickets too thanks to a great slip catch from Richard Neale. It was left to Desai to come back on and take the last wicket which he did and finished with a superb 4-29 off 8 overs. PCCB were eventually bowled out for 161 in 36 overs.

It was a controlled bowling display combined with some excellent fielding that saw no chances go begging in what turned out to be a very hot afternoon.

The Optimists openers were Seb Finch and Joost Mees. Mees received a jaffer of a yorker early on and departed which led to the brief appearance of Tony Whiteman who guided one to slip only a few balls later. Richard Neale was the next man to the crease and looked in good touch but soon played a sloppy shot and was caught at mid-off. After the first 5 overs, the Optimists were 26-3 and things were not looking too good.

However, newcomer Deman Smit strode to the crease and with Seb Finch batting brilliantly at the other end, the two set about re-building the innings. Finch looked every bit the opening batsman and batted with an excellent temperament. He left the ball well and managed to get ones and twos to rotate the strike and keep the scoreboard ticking over nicely. Smit was in top form though and after patiently seeing off the opening bowlers began to capitalise on the PCCB bowling attack. A number of fine and powerful cover drives were particularly impressive and Smit quickly motored along to a well deserved 50. In the end Finch and Smit made it look easy the Optimists coasted home in just 26 overs. Finch and Smit were joint men of the match in what was an excellent batting performance from these two.
At the end, Smit was 76 not out and Finch was 46 not out.

Another win for the Optimists 1st XI and as a club remain unbeaten this season which is a fantastic effort from all. The Optimists are on track for promotion this season but there is still a lot of cricket to go!

Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 3 wickets
Nishith Gandhi  
Taral Desai  
Sebastian Finch Not Out  46
Deepak Gianchandani  
Suresh Kalagara  
Joost Mees Bowled  7
Mohammed Iqbal Murad  
Richard Neale Caught  10 3
Tony Whiteman Caught  0 1
Rathinavel Pandian Ramalingam  
Deman Smit Not Out  76 1

PCCB Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

PCCB Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
161 (0.0 overs)

Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Suresh Kalagara5.002200.004.40
Mohammed Iqbal Murad6.0145145.007.50
Nishith Gandhi9.0236218.004.00
Taral Desai8.312947.253.41
Rathinavel Pandian Ramalingam4.001700.004.25
Deepak Gianchandani3.00924.503.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Mick Swithinbank