Antwerp Indians Cricket Club v Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 13 Jul 2013 at 13:30
Optimists Cricket Club Won by 5 wickets

Match report The 1st XI travelled to Wilrijk, the home ground of the Antwerp Indians, last Saturday to play a double header against Antwerp Indians 1st XI and Ostend Exiles. Skipper Joost Mees lost the toss and we were sent in to bowl first on a lovely sunny day in Belgium.

The start of the match was typical T20 and saw chances for catches, a run out, as well as chanceless boundaries and a high amount of dot balls and resulted in a score of 37 for 2 after the mandatory powerplay. Charlie Ramsden bowled all his overs through for a very impressive 3 for 26 of 4, helped by a very athletic catch of T. Barker at short third man. Wickets kept tumbling and unfortunately tough chances went down this time, resulting in a final score of 169 for 7. Aanand Pandey ended with respectable figures of 1 for 26 off 4, Arjun Nandal 0 for 26 off 4. All in all more than decent fielding and bowling performance on a rock hard but small outfield.

The batting innings started with Arjun opening with Timothy Barker, but was unfortunately short-lived as was the stay of skipper Joost Mees. Aanand Pandey and Timothy Barker pushed on and after Aanand got adjudged LBW half way down the track, it was up to two Timothys to keep up with the pace. Andrews provided a very valuable support act, unfortunately losing his left hamstring in the process and forced to hole out for an invaluable 23. Timothy Barker kept on hitting the bad balls for boundaries and making use of the sloppiness in the fielding of AICC, now with a perfect ally in Yassar Ali, who hit the winning runs after 19.4 overs. All final overs hectic made the team only realise after clapping of Timothy Barker that he ended on a monstrous 104 not out, making him only the second centurion in a T20 match in the history of the Optimists. Well done Timothy!!

Antwerp Indians Cricket Club Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
5w 3b  
for 6 wickets
169 (20.0 overs)
S Melita ct  Ramsden b Desai 8 1
A Driven b  Ramsden 27
H Pariah ct  Nandal b Ramsden 1
S Jhaveri ct  Patta'nam b Aa. Pandey 32
S Shah ct  T Barker b Ramsden 1
N. Gandhi Run out  65
A Shah b  Y. Ali 2
D Shah Not Out  24
R Ganhi  
Shar Shah  
S Maniar  

Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Arjun Nandal4.002600.006.50
Charlie Ramsden4.002638.676.50
Taral Desai3.0037137.0012.33
Anand Pattabiraman2.001900.009.50
Aanand Pandey4.0026126.006.50
Yassar Ali3.0026126.008.67

Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 5 wickets
Yassar Ali Not Out  5
Tim Andrews Bowled  23
Graham Cope  
Taral Desai Bowled  3
Joost Mees Caught  7
Aanand Pandey Lbw  10
Anand Pattabiraman   1
Arvind Pandey  
Arjun Nandal Caught  0
Timothy Barker Not Out  104 1
Charlie Ramsden   1

Antwerp Indians Cricket Club Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

  • Umpire :
    tbd by BCF
  • Scorer :
    Phil Burleigh