Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI v RBCC on Sat 11 Jun 2016 at 12:00
Optimists Cricket Club Won By 1 wicket

Match report This was a victory that was truly hard-earned in many ways. Firstly, the match only happened thanks to the hard work put in during the week and last night to get the Walferdange pitch fit for cricket. Without that effort, there would have been no win. Then our team had to watch with due respect when RBCC’s best player Brighton Watambwa showed why he has played International cricket for Zimbabwe as he caressed 121 runs to all corners of the pitch. Our boys fought well to contain the visitors and finally got them all out for 225 in their final over. 3 wickets each for Nishith Gandhi and Mohit Dixit and some excellent fielding from Rakesh Sharma with 2 good catches and a direct hit run out.
Chasing 225 in 39 overs in wet conditions was always going be a tough challenge. Against good opposition with international class made it harder. Thankfully, our 1st XI bat’s all the way to no. 11 and we needed to. In a long battle against the run rate and the wet, there were key contributions from Rakesh Sharma (35), skipper Tony Whiteman (60) and Saransh (Mr Cool) Kulshretha (52 not out) and it went down to the final over with one wicket to spare. But we made it happen with 4 balls to spare through true team effort and this means 3 wins from 3 in the defence of the Division 2 title. Well done boys.

RBCC Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
11w 5lb 
for 10 wickets
225 (38.3 overs)

Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Nishith Gandhi8.0044314.675.50
Mohit Dixit8.0132310.674.00
Saransh Kulshrestha4.0027127.006.75
Suhail Sadiq7.0034134.004.86
Aanand Pandey4.004400.0011.00
Girish Venkateswaran7.3039139.005.20

Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
3nb 17w 6b 3lb 
for 9 wickets
Ananth Srisailapathy Bowled  1 9 6 16.67
Murali Ravichandran Run out  5 29 22 22.73
Girish Venkateswaran Caught  19 41 33 1 57.58
Aanand Pandey Caught  8 24 17 47.06 1
Rakesh Sharma Lbw  35 40 26 3 1 134.62 2 1
Mohit Dixit Caught  3 10 8 37.50
Tony Whiteman Caught  60 52 44 4 2 136.36 1
Saransh Kulshrestha Not Out  52 73 53 1 98.11 2
Bichitra Sahoo Run out  1 2 2 50.0
Suhail Sadiq Caught  11 32 19 57.89
Nishith Gandhi Not Out  2 8 3 66.67

RBCC Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :