Optimists Cricket Club WOCC (Walferdange Optimists) v Star CC on Sun 17 May 2009 at 14:30
Match was Drawn

Match report WOCC won the toss and put Star CC into bat. Burleigh and Evans C. contained SCC big guns Pathak and Sawhney for the first 10 overs, but after Evans had dismissed Pathak lbw for 3, Sawhney cut loose and runs seem to flow more freely from then. It took the introduction of Merkl to remove Sawney with a quicker ball. Merlk then followed up by dismissing Vishwanath with the perfect off-spinners dismissal, bowled off-stump, through the gate. At the other end, junior Karan Garg impressed all with his away-swinging medium pace and picked up three wickets in his six overs. Fitzgerald, having converted from Wasim Akram-like seam bowling to Derek Underwood-like left-arm orthodox, proved very economica. Fitzgerald has no doubt wondered why he bothered bowling seam all these years, when you can pick up just as many wickets (none in this match) and concede fewer runs all for much less energy expenditure.

After a brief rain break during which curry was taken, SCC batted on well beyond the half-way point. Indeed it took two wickets in two balls from Garg to finally finish them off in the 49th over.

This left WOCC with the well-nigh impossible task of chasing 215 in 20overs and 15minutes. Merkl was dismissed in the first over by a good delivery from Trivedi, and with him went any chance of victory for WOCC. No batting points in this year's championship meant that scoring runs was irrelevant. Heath and Burleigh emphatically shut down the shop, scoring 2 not out and 0 not out respectively in the remaining overs.

The final score of 12 for 1 demonstrated clearly what can happen if time cricket is either not understood or played in the wrong spirit. It is invariably the captain of the side fielding second who has the opportunity to dictate the course of the game. Nevertheless, the result provoked much discussion and hopefully will result in all participants in the LCF league learning from it.

William Heath

Star CC Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
214 (0.0 overs)
Vivek Pathak lbw  Christopher Evans 3
Sanjiv Sawhney b  Piran Merkl 63
Taral Desai ct  Karan Garg 9
Roshan Vishwanath b  Piran Merkl 30
Saran Narayanan lbw  Mike West 3
Deepak Gianchandani b  Piran Merkl 9
Raju ct  Karan Garg 31
Mohit run out  Piran Merkl 2
Puran b  Paul Galliver 2
Niraj Trivedi Not Out  15
Gautam lbw  Karan Garg 0

Optimists Cricket Club WOCC (Walferdange Optimists) Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Phillip Burleigh5.011500.003.00
Christopher Evans6.0025125.004.17
Jeroen Van der Knoop3.002400.008.00
A.N. Other5.2131310.335.81
Mark Fitzgerald6.001700.002.83
Mike West9.0043143.004.78
Piran Merkl9.002538.332.78
Paul Galliver5.0033216.506.60

Optimists Cricket Club WOCC (Walferdange Optimists) Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 1 wickets
Piran Merkl ct  Vishwanath 0 1
Phillip Burleigh Not Out  0
William Heath Not Out  2 2
Robert Deed  
Jeroen Van der Knoop  
Mark Fitzgerald  
Mike West  
Paul Galliver  
Christopher Evans  
Steve Haselock  
A.N. Other  

Star CC Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.