Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI v Antwerp CC on Sun 14 Aug 2011 at 13:30
Optimists Cricket Club Won by 8 wickets

Match report The last 2nd division match for the 1st XI started in the morning with a last minute replacement for Will Heath who was stuck in NY on an airport. Fortunate enough Phil was ready to take his place in the starting XI, so we had a full team. Rain stopped 10 minutes before starting time and Joost decided to field first in these wet conditions (with the long grass) in order to have a possible advantage if rain was to follow.

A very good tandem bowling partnership of Suresh and Pandian lead to two wickets in the first 9 overs, including Belgian international Simon Newport for 3. The bowlers were changed round often and this resulted in wickets for all bowlers, where Ananad Pattabiraman continued his good form and took 2-12 off his 3.1 overs. Phil Burleigh and Iqqi were the main threats and took 3-14 off 5 and 2-13 off 7. Antwerp CC was all out for 91, with a small footnote that we missed 7 chances in the field.

Tea was skipped, but it seemed Seb was hungry for food, as he fished outside off stump for his second ball and got caught in the slip cordon in the first over, which brought the skipper to join Paul Monico in the middle. Paul and Joost kept the scoreboard ticking and after a decent partnership Paul had enough and attempted a shot we have seen so much in this league, the hoik over mid wicket. Unfortunately the ball went straight into his stumps and a partnership of 73 ended. Tim Andrews and Joost finished it off in the 18th over for the loss of 2 wickets. (Monico 36, Mees 38*)

Leaves me to thank all the players for the great season we have had this year. Great efforts both in T20 competition and by winning the 2nd division in Belgium this year. Special thanks to Mick Swithinbank for scoring for us again this season. Thanks as well to Rob Deed for bringing the champagne and Battin on Sunday to celebrate the promotion. Next year will hopefully be as successful as this year!

Antwerp CC Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
91 (0.0 overs)

Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Suresh Kalagara8.0124124.003.00
Rathinavel Pandian Ramalingam5.0113113.002.60
Mohammed Iqbal Murad7.011326.501.86
Phillip Burleigh5.011434.672.80
Anand Pattabiraman3.101226.003.79
James Barker3.0014114.004.67

Optimists Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 2 wickets
Paul Monico Bowled  36
Sebastian Finch Caught  0
Phillip Burleigh  
Joost Mees Not Out  38 1
Tim Andrews Not Out  7
Timothy Barker  
Suresh Kalagara  
Rathinavel Pandian Ramalingam   1
Mohammed Iqbal Murad  
James Barker  
Anand Pattabiraman  

Antwerp CC Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Simon Newport6.0029129.004.83
Ashiqullah Saeed4.011700.004.25
Farooq Khan1.00800.008.00
Paul Norris3.002000.006.67
Nilesh Apte3.0015115.005.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :